Request for BIC Eligible Status and/or Broker-In-Charge Designation


An image of the North Carolin Real Estate Seal.

As of July 1, 2018, in order to be designated as a Broker-in-Charge, a broker must first obtain BIC Eligible status. To qualify for BIC Eligible status, a broker must: If you do not receive a Notice of License Record Change within 10 business days after filing this form, contact License Services at 919-875-3700.

SPECIAL NOTE: If you have lost BIC Eligible status, then before you submit this form to regain BIC Eligible Status, Commission Rule 58A .0110 requires you to complete the following steps in the prescribed order:
  1. Take the necessary steps to return your license to active status, i.e., pay reinstatement fee and/or complete required education:
  2. Submit the License Activation form (REC 2.08):
  3. Complete the Commission’s 12-hour Broker-in-Charge Course: and
  4. Submit this form: Request for BIC Eligible Status and/or Broker-in-Charge Designation form (REC 2.25). (Note that you must have the experience required for initial designation.)

Broker Information

Commission Rule 58A .0113 requires that brokers report convictions or disciplinary actions within 60 days of the final judgment, order, or disposition in the case. To report any offense, you must complete the Criminal Conviction Disciplinary Action Reporting Form (REC 2.09) . The form is available on the Commission’s website.

Commission Rule 58A .0113 requires that brokers report convictions or disciplinary actions within 60 days of the final judgment, order, or disposition in the case. To report any offense, you must complete the Criminal Conviction Disciplinary Action Reporting Form (REC 2.09) . The form is available on the Commission’s website.


BIC ELIGIBLE STATUS

You can check your license status by logging into your license record using the Broker Login. Your password will be the last 4 digits of your SSN unless you have changed it.

Criteria on which you are applying?*

At least 2 years of FULL-time or 4 years of part-time real estate brokerage experience in any state within the previous 5 years.

North Carolina licensed attorney with a practice that consisted primarily of handling real estate closings and related matters in North Carolina for three years immediately preceding application.

If your brokerage experience was acquired in a state other than NC, attach an Official Certification of Licensure from the state / jurisdiction in which you are currently licensed reflecting active status for at least 2 of the last 5 years. The certification must have been issued within 6 months of application.*
*Accepted File Types: .tiff .tif .jpeg .jpg .txt .pdf .docx .doc .png
*Max file upload size 10MBs totally.

Total File Upload Size: 0.000*Mb

*Selected file(s) size exceed upload limitations of 10MBs

*If you need to add more brokerage firms, attach a document. Please include all information as required above.
*Accepted File Types: .tiff .tif .jpeg .jpg .txt .pdf .docx .doc .png
*Max file upload size 10MBs totally.

Total File Upload Size: 0.000*Mb

*Selected file(s) size exceed upload limitations of 10MBs

*If you need to add more law firms, attach a document. Please include all information as required above.
*Accepted File Types: .tiff .tif .jpeg .jpg .txt .pdf .docx .doc .png
*Max file upload size 10MBs totally.

Total File Upload Size: 0.000*Mb

*Selected file(s) size exceed upload limitations of 10MBs


BROKER-IN-CHARGE DESIGNATION
SPECIAL NOTES:
If your firm has more than one office where real estate brokerage activities are conducted, submit a separate form for each office.
*If you are replacing a BIC, any/all brokers currently affiliated with the BIC you are replacing will be removed from that BIC’s supervision and re-affiliated with you. If you do not wish for brokers to be affiliated with you, please notify the Commission in writing as to how the brokers should be handled. To do so, send an email to ls@ncrec.gov.
You have indicated you wish to be designated as BIC of a firm that is not yet licensed. As a result, you need to apply for a firm license for this firm. To do so, complete and submit the Firm License Application (form REC 1.72) , which is available on the Commission’s website (ncrec.gov), under Forms \ Application Forms. The Request for BIC Eligible status and BIC Designation form is included in the firm license packet, and you will submit it with the application.

CERTIFICATION

I certify to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission that I am the applicant named herein and that all information provided in connection with my application for Broker-in-Charge eligible status is true to the best of my knowledge and belief, with the understanding that any omissions, inaccuracies or failure to make full disclosures may be deemed sufficient reason to deny or withdraw Broker-in-Charge eligible status.

I certify to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission that I have been duly designated by the Qualifying Broker of the real estate firm shown herein to serve as broker-in-charge for such firm at the office listed and that I have the experience required for such designation. I further certify that I shall carry out my responsibilities as broker-in-charge for such office in accordance with the Commission’s rules, that I shall directly supervise any and all licensed real estate provisional brokers working from such office, and that I will continually maintain my license on active status.

(Type your name)

Date Signed

7/18/2019

You must complete the reCaptcha below before submitting this form*

Info
An image of an exclamation point.
Info
Processing Form...
Info
An image of an exclamation point.
3.81.73.233

This form is not meant to be printed. If you have already completed the form please use the submit button at the bottom to send the form directly to the Commission.