

North Carolina Real Estate Commission Post Office Box 17100 ● Raleigh, NC 27619 919.875.3700 ● educ@ncrec.gov

North Carolina Real Estate License Examination STATE SECTION STUDY GUIDELINES

These study guidelines are provided to assist license applicants taking only the State section of the North Carolina real estate license examination.

Applicants taking only the State section of the examination are strongly encouraged to take appropriate steps to prepare. Currently, less than 40% of applicants who attempt to pass the examination without participating in a 75-hour Broker Prelicensing course are successful on their first attempt.

An application must be filed with the Commission before an applicant may take the license examination. To access the Commission's online application system, go to the Commission's website (www.ncrec.gov), under "Licensing" select Apply for Broker License.

The passing score for the State section of the license examination is 72.5% (29 of the 40 scored questions answered correctly).

Complete information about the license examination and the licensing process is contained in the Commission's <u>Real Estate Licensing in North Carolina</u> booklet. The booklet is available on our website (<u>www.ncrec.gov</u>) under the "Licensing" tab. You may also call or email the Commission to request that a paper copy of the booklet be mailed to you.

Page 1 of 6 REV 7/2017

STATE SECTION EXAM PREP OPTIONS

Option 1: Take the 75-hour Broker Prelicensing Course.

The most thorough preparation for the State section of the examination (as well as for the National section) is to take the *75-hour Broker Prelicensing Course* from a Commission-approved North Carolina school. This course is offered ONLY through live classroom instruction in NC.

A <u>list of approved schools</u>, including contact information, is provided on the Commission's website (www.ncrec.gov) under the "Education" tab.

Option 2: Obtain and independently study books and materials.

A. For Coverage of ALL EXAM TOPICS:

There are two Commission-approved Prelicensing course textbooks. Both textbooks provide coverage of all topics tested on both the National and State sections of the license examination. Applicants taking the State section need only study the topics listed in *State Section Content Outline*.

Commission-Approved Prelicensing Course Textbooks (CHOOSE ONE)		
Modern Real Estate Practice in North Carolina, 9th Edition	Published by Kaplan Real Estate Education, 2017 (830 page text).	
Includes NC Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules, and License Law and Rule Comments in appendices.	Price: \$52.97. Shipping costs and state sales taxes may also apply. Order online at www.recampus.com .	
North Carolina Real Estate Principles and Practices, 7th Edition Revised	Published by OnCourse Learning, 2014 (790 page text). Price: \$69.95. Shipping costs and state sales taxes	
Includes NC Real Estate License Law, Commission Rules, and License Law and Rule Comments in appendices.	may also apply. Order online at www.oncoursepublishing.com or by phone (855.733.7239) or email (publishingsales@oncoursepublishing.com)	

Note: The two Prelicensing textbooks are the only cited references with coverage of "Basic House Construction."

Page 2 of 6 REV 7/2017

B. For Coverage of ALL State section Exam Topics EXCEPT "Federal Income Taxation of Home Ownership/Sale", "Basic House Construction" and "Residential Square Footage Guidelines":

North Carolina Real Estate Manual AND North Carolina Real Estate License Law & Commission Rules. These are the Commission's primary reference publications for brokers and the text(s) for Postlicensing courses. Although the three (3) topics mentioned above are not addressed, all other topics are covered in substantial depth.

Commission Reference Publications		
North Carolina Real Estate Manual, 2017 Edition (842 page text).	Two formats are available: • Soft cover book: \$49.00 • Online subscription: \$20.00 Prices include taxes, shipping and handling. Click here to order online	
North Carolina Real Estate License Law & Commission Rules (Also including the License Law and Rules Comments) July 2017 Edition	Price \$4.00, includes taxes, shipping and handling. <u>Click here</u> to order online	

C. For Coverage of "Residential Square Footage Guidelines" ONLY:

Residential Square Footage Guidelines (published by NC Real Estate Commission). Click here to view or Click here purchase the Guidelines booklet on the Commission's website. Price \$0.65, includes taxes, shipping and handling.

D. For Coverage of "Federal Income Taxation of Home Ownership/Sale" ONLY:

IRS Publication 530 – Tax Information for Homeowners and IRS Publication 523 – Selling Your Home available on the IRS website, www.irs.gov

Option 3: Take a course or use study materials designed for the State section of the license examination.

Some of the approved real estate schools that offer the Broker Prelicensing course also offer "state exam prep" courses and materials.

No exam prep courses or materials are specifically approved by or endorsed by the NC Real Estate Commission.

To get information about preparatory courses or materials, contact the schools directly or go to the website of the North Carolina Real Estate Educators Association (www.ncreea.com) and click on "Links".

Page 3 of 6 REV 7/2017

STATE SECTION CONTENT OUTLINE (40 SCORED QUESTIONS)

Applicants should study the License Law and relevant Commission Rules as noted for topics in each subject area, as well as the entire *the License Law and Rules Comments*. The number of questions per section are also noted.

N.C. Real Estate License Law and Commission Rules (24 Questions)		
Requirement for Real Estate License (2 Questions) Laws: 93A-1&2	 Activities Requiring a License Exempt Activities Activities of Unlicensed Assistants 	
License Categories and Status (1 Question) Laws: 93A-1; 93A-4(a1) Rules: A.0502; A.0504; Section A.1800	 Broker Provisional Broker Limited Nonresident Commercial Broker Firm Active / Inactive Status 	
Broker-in-Charge (1 Question) Laws: 93A-2(a1) & (a2); 93A-4.2 Rules: A.0110; A.0506	 Broker-In-Charge Requirements & Responsibilities Supervision of Provisional Brokers 	
North Carolina Real Estate Commission (1 Question) Laws: 93A-3; 93A-6	 Purpose Composition Powers (including disciplinary powers) 	
License Administrative / Maintenance Requirements (2 Questions) Laws: 93A-4(c); 93A-4.1; 93A-4(1) Rules: A.0101; A.0103; A.0113; A.0503; A.0505; A.0507; Section A.1700; Section A.1900	 Proof of Licensure Change of Name / Address Reporting Criminal Convictions License Expiration / Renewal / Reinstatement Continuing Education Postlicensing Education 	
Agency Contracts and Practices (3 Questions) Laws: 93A-6(a)(4) Rules: A.0104	 Requirements for Agency Contracts Oral Buyer / Tenant Agency Contracts Related Practices of Listing Agents and Agents Working with Buyers 	
Agency Disclosure (2 Questions) Laws: 93A-6(a)(4) Rules: A.0104	 Providing Agency Brochure Disclosure of Agency Status by Seller's Agent and Buyer's Agent First Substantial Contact Disclosure Exceptions 	

Page 4 of 6 REV 7/2017

Dual and Designated Agency (3 Questions) Laws: 93A-6(a)(4) Rules: A.0104 Selected Regulated Practices (3 Questions) Laws: 93A-6(a)(11) & (13) Rules: A.0105; A.0106; A.0108; A.0111, A.0115; A.2200	 Disclosure Authority Limitations on Agency Duties Practicing Dual & Designated Agency Advertising Delivery of Instruments Retention of Records Drafting Legal Instruments Disclosure of Offers Broker Price Opinions
Handling & Accounting for Funds (1 Question) Laws: 93A-6(a)(7), (12) & (14); 93A-6 (d) & (g) Rules: A.0116; A.0117; A.0118	Basic Requirements for Trust Accounts and Handling Trust Monies (detailed recordkeeping/ accounting/disbursement requirements are not tested)
Brokerage Fees and Compensation (1 Question) Laws: 93A-6(a)(9) Rules: A.0109 Prohibited Practices (3 Questions) Laws: 93A-6(a)(1), (2), (3), (4), (5), (6), (8), (10), (11) & (15); 93A-6(b), (c), (e) & (f) Rules: A.0504(a); A.0507	 Disclosure of Compensation Compensation of Unlicensed Persons for Brokerage Activities Commission's Limited Role Regarding Broker Compensation Misrepresentation and Omission Making False Promises Pursuing Course of Misrepresentation or False Promises Conflict of Interest Provisional Broker Compensation Representing More than One Broker without Consent Unworthiness and Incompetence Improper, Fraudulent or Dishonest Dealing Practicing Law Violation of Rules Other Grounds for Disciplinary Action Injunctive Relief License Surrender Imposition of Restrictions on License or Approval Dishonored Payment of License Fees
Time Shares (1 Question) Laws: 93A-39 - 42, 44, 45, 51, 54, 56 & 58 Rules: B.0400, B.0500, & B.0600	 Registration of Time Share Projects and Licensure of Time Share Salespeople Definitions, Time Shares Are Real Estate Public Offering Statement Purchaser's Right to Cancel Commission's Authority & Disciplinary Action Criminal Penalty Registrar and Project Broker Records Agency Agreements and Disclosure Handling and Accounting for Funds

Page 5 of 6 REV 7/2017

Other North Carolina Laws and Practices (11 Questions)		
Property Taxation (2 Questions)	Legal Requirements and Procedures for Property Taxes and Special Assessments The Company of the Company o	
NCGS Chapter 105	Excise Tax (No Calculations)	
Sales Contracts and Practices (2 Questions)	Basic Concepts and Provisions of the North Carolina Bar Association and North Carolina	
Rules: A.0112	Association of REALTORS® (NCBA / NCAR) Jointly Approved Off to Purchase and Contract	
NCAR Standard Form 2-T	Standard Form 2-T • NC Practices Related to Sales and Sales Contracts	
Closing Procedures (1 Question)	 Attorney Supervised Closings Typical Pre-Closing and Closing Procedures NC Good Funds Settlement Act Broker's Responsibility as to Settlement Statements 	
Laws Governing Residential Tenancies (2 Questions)	 NC Residential Rental Agreements Act Laws Governing Eviction Procedures NC Tenant Security Deposit Act Statute of Frauds (as to Leases) 	
Residential Square Footage Guidelines (1 Question)	Residential Square Footage Guidelines published by the NC Real Estate Commission (No calculations)	
Miscellaneous NC Laws and Legal Concepts (3 Questions) NCGS47E; NCREC Rules A.0114 & A.0119 G.S. 153A-330 et seq G.S. 136-102.6	 Tenancy by the Entirety Townhouses NC Residential Property Disclosure Act including Mineral and Oil and Gas Rights Mandatory Disclosure Laws Regarding Materiality and Disclosure of Death or Serious Illness of Previous Property Occupant and of a Convicted Sex Offender Occupying or Residing Near a Property Subdivision Regulation, incl. Sale of Lots in Unapproved Subdivision Disclosure by Developers as to Subdivision Streets Protective/Restrictive Covenants On-Site Septic Systems Broker's Responsibilities Relating to Any of Above 	
General Real Estate Topics (5 Questions)		
Basic House Construction (2 Questions)	Wood-Frame Construction Methods and TerminologyArchitectural Styles	
Federal Income Taxation of Home Ownership / Sale (1 Question)	Basic TerminologyHomeowner DeductionsSale of Personal Residence	
Residential Loan Qualification Calculations (1 Question)	Qualifying a Buyer Using Given Income/Expense Ratios	
Comparative Market Analysis (CMA) Calculations (1 Question)	Miscellaneous Calculations Associated with Performing a CMA	

Page 6 of 6 REV 7/2017